The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn


The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn is a small book that can have a big impact in your life.  This is a book that I have had for a little while, and now that I’ve read it, I wish I had picked it up sooner.  I found this book to be challenging to my current giving levels, and I trust that you will too.

Randy Alcorn shares 6 principles about giving and backs them up with numerous Bible passages.  He helps to put into perspective that all the “stuff” that we accumulate on earth is worthless in the long run and should not be such a high priority in the lives of those who put their faith in the God of the Bible.  Our priority should be reaching out to those without Christ through generous giving and serving.  The author states:

“Giving doesn’t strip me of vested interests; rather, it shifts my vested interests from earth to heaven – from self to God.”

Then he goes on to say:

“I’m not saying that it’s easy to give. I’m saying – and there are thousands who will agree – that it’s much easier to live on 90 percent or 50 percent or 10 percent of your income inside the will of God than it is to live on 100 percent outside it.”

The author has several different ways to shift the mindset of the reader in order to challenge our perspectives.  After reviewing the 6 principles amid Bible references and historical quotes, the book concludes with a “giving covenant” and 31 questions to ask God about our giving.

If you are open to hear God’s calling for change in your attitude about giving, I recommend that you read this book.  In the very least, it will make you think about your giving level, and how you can survive on less so you can give more.  You can read an excerpt of the book or just order one for yourself.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Posted on 2011/11/01, in Money, Religion, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

