The Heart Mender: A Story of Second Chances By Andy Andrews


The Heart Mender by Andy Andrews

I had a hard time putting down The Heart Mender by Andy Andrews.  The beginning of the book is intriguing, and left me wondering whether this was a true story or not.  When I finished, the story left me wondering if I knew anyone who would not benefit from reading this book.

The setting of this story is a small town in Alabama near the Gulf of Mexico during World War II.  While I don’t usually find history that interesting, this book is historically enlightening in ways I never imagined.  The German presence in the Gulf of Mexico during World War II was a surprise to me, and the United States government issuing a media gag order about what was going on was an even bigger surprise.

The author goes on to weave together a love story and what happens to us when we hold on to the past and refuse to forgive.  Andy Andrews does an excellent job communicating the effects of unforgiveness while drawing the reader into the personal struggle of a young widow.  Through the eyes of a child, the reader is challenged to let go of the past and embrace the present.  That same challenge is again issued by a German soldier.

I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with letting go of the past, and for those who know someone who needs a second chance.

[Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”]

Posted on 2010/05/16, in Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

